Skip to product information
1 of 2

GJK Music

Dante's Descent - Brass Band

Dante's Descent - Brass Band

⚠️ Alle sets worden digitaal verkocht!
Regular price €140,00 EUR
Regular price Sale price €140,00 EUR
Sale Sold out
Tax included. Shipping calculated at checkout.

Dante's Descent is a great work for brass band and is based on parts from Dante's Inferno. It is a musical sketch of the composer's imagination regarding the first movement: Inferno.

The work consists of six scenes in five parts. The first part begins the story with "mi ritrovai per una selva oscura" ("I found myself in a dark forest") in which the musical material of the work is exposed, which quickly leads to the entry into Hell "Lasciate ogni speranza, voi ch'intrate” (“Abandon all hope, ye who enter here”). The second movement, “In la palude va c'ha nome Stige” (“A swamp is forming called the Styx”), is a whimsical waltz with solos in the cornet, trombone, E-flat bass and flugelhorn. The atmosphere becomes more restless in the third movement: “Omai, figliuolo, s'appressa la città c'ha nome Dite.” (“My son, now the city called Dis is approaching us.”) The ostinate motifs depict the recurring horrors in the city of Hell. The ninth circle of Hell is a very cold place described in the fourth part “mettine giù, e non ten vegna schifo, dove Cocito la freddura serra.” (“Put us, and without reluctance, in the depths, where cold and ice keep Cocytus locked.”) A number of doomed souls are voiced in the solos for trombone and cornet, which eventually lead to a closing cadence where the three-headed Lucifer is depicted in the trombone section. After climbing Lucifer we find ourselves on our way out of Hell in the fifth part “E quindi uscimmo a riveder le stelle“ (“Then we went out to see the stars again”), where the memories of the journey still remain hang, but in the end be overcome.

Grade: 6
Duration: 17:30


PDF en printrecht

Nou raakt er wel eens een partij zoek. Dan kun je er een bijbestellen. Maar bij GJK Music krijg je automatisch toestemming om de partij zo vaak als je wilt uit te printen.

View full details