> 15:00 Ensemble

Movie Time

Movie Time is a piece where a youth ensemble can imagine their own story/movie/play on the music.

There are three acts with two scenes. In every scene, there are two moments where the story can be told (except for the last scene). The first moment tells the main story of that scene the second moment is a turning point that is the trigger for the next scene.

These moments are loops take can take as much time as you need. The structure is as follows:

  • Act I – Scene I: introductions, TP: a problem
  • Act I – Scene II: looking for answers, TP: the solution
  • Act II – Scene I: everything is going smoothly, TP: point of no return
  • Act II – Scene II: obstacles and complications, TP: disaster!
  • Act III – Scene I: big chase, TP: victory
  • Act III – Scene II: back to real life
> 15:00 Brass Band Concert Band Duration Ensemble Fanfare Band

Sound of the Middle Sea

Sound of the Middle Sea was written for the evening concert of “Lûd fan de Middelsee”. The work is divided into ten sections (Origin, Episode 1, Terra, Episode 2, Aqua, Episode 3, Aer, Episode 4, Ignis and Quintessence). Origin depicts the origins of the Middle Sea and introduces the elements. Terra (Earth) is a pesante dance movement, depicting hard labour and the growth of the land. Aqua (Water) depicts the trade spirit of the people living near the Middle See. Aer (Air) is a slow movement about contemplation and rationality. Ignis (Fire) depicts devastation. Quintessence is the final where the fifth element is made up of all the other elements. The Episodes link the elements together and are improvised, during the episodes a speaker will tell the story of the Sound of the Middle Sea.

Parts of this ‘suite’ can be performed, please contact me if you have any questions about this piece and/or performing it.

> 15:00 Concert Band Fanfare Band Grade 6

Red Prince

Red Prince is an imaginary tale about a red-haired boy that embarks on a big adventure. After the introduction, the confident little hero finds himself in the midst of all the action. What follows is a quest where the boy is filled with doubt and questions. Although in the end, he finds what he is looking for. In conclusion, he continues his adventure with a renewed determination, boldness and confidence.

> 15:00 Brass Band Grade 6

Dante’s Descent

Dante’s Descent is based on parts of Dante’s novel. It is a musical sketch of the composer’s imagination of the first part: Inferno.

The piece contains six scenes’s in five sections. The first section sets of the story with  “mi ritrovai per una selva oscura”  (“I found myself in a dark wood “) exposing some of the main musical material for the rest of the piece, quickly leading to the entrance of hell, ”Lasciate ogni speranza, voi ch’intrate” (“Abandon all hope, you who enter here “). The second section,  “In la palude va c’ha nome Stige” (“A marsh it makes, which has the name of Styx “), is a quirky waltz featuring solo’s in the cornet, trombone, E flat Bass and flugelhorn. The mood gets more uneasy in the third section “Omai, figliuolo, s’appressa la città c’ha nome Dite “ (“My son, the city that bears the name of Dis is drawing near”). The ostinato motives portray the constant recurring terrors inside the city of hell. The ninth circle of hell is a very cold place portrayed in the fourth section “mettine giù, e non ten vegna schifo, dove Cocito la freddura serra.” (“do set us down below, where cold shuts in, Cocytus and do not disdain that task.“) A few damned souls get a voice in solos for trombone and cornet, all leading to the final cadenza where the three-headed Lucifer is portrayed by the trombone section. After climbing Lucifer we find ourselves on our way out of hell in the fifth section “E quindi uscimmo a riveder le stelle” (“and thence we came forth to see again the stars”), where memories of the journey still linger but eventually get conquered.